ArtsGreensboro is now accepting nominations for the 2017 Betty Cone Medal of Arts. Named in honor of two-time O.Henry Award recipient Betty Cone and first awarded in 1999, the Betty Cone Medal of Arts is the most prestigious local award presented to artists. It recognizes artists who have achieved clear excellence in their disciplines and/or have made extraordinary contributions to their field or to the community at large through their artistry or expertise.

Nominations for the 2017 Betty Cone Medal of the Arts, including up to four letters of support, are due to ArtsGreensboro no later than 5 pm on Wednesday, May 31, 2017. Nomination forms are available at

The award will be presented at ArtsGreensboro’s Annual Meeting on June 21, 2017.

In 2016, Stephen Gee, Co-Founder of the Broach Theater Company, received the Medal of Arts posthumously.
Other past recipients include: Stephen Hyers, Laurelyn Dossett, Elvira Green, Jim Gallucci, Henry and Lucy Ingram, Elissa Fuchs, Richard Cox, Barbara Britton, Mitchel Sommers, James McMillan, Maryhelen Mayfield and John Dennis, Preston Lane, and James Barnhill.

Nomination Form