Kathy Manning receives the 2015 O. Henry Award for exceptional impact in Greensboro


Greensboro, N.C., January 29, 2015 ArtsGreensboro, in collaboration with the Greensboro Partnership, has presented the 2015 O. Henry Award to Kathy Manning.

The award honors individuals who have made an extraordinary contribution to the cultural development of Greensboro over the course of their lifetimes. A passionate leader in the arts, Kathy Manning was recognized for her passionate philanthropic work here in Greensboro.

Manning has taken a leadership role in a wide range of causes and organizations that have changed the face of Greensboro forever. She currently serves as Chair of the Board and is also a Founding Member of Triad Stage. She also serves on the Boards of the Greensboro Symphony and the Eastern Music Festival. She is Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Community Foundation of Greater Greensboro and is past Chair of the Community Foundation’s Development Committee. She has co-chaired both the Alexis de Tocqueville Society campaign for the United Way of Greater Greensboro and the Citation Award Dinner for the National Conference for Community and Justice. A Past President of the Greensboro Jewish Federation, she has also served—twice—as the Chair of the Board of Trustees of B’nai Shalom Day School.

Manning also led the efforts to create ArtBeat, a local arts festival that has since been reimagined and renamed 17DAYS, which has become North Carolina’s most successful collaborative arts and culture festival.

Most notably, Manning led a fundraising team to raise more than $35 million in private donations to make Greensboro’s vision of a Downtown Performing Arts Center a reality. Because of her determination and drive to take this aspiration across the finish line, the City of Greensboro will break ground in a few months on the state-of-the-art Steven Tanger Center for the Performing Arts.

The O. Henry Award was presented by ArtsGreensboro Board President Florence Gatten at the Greensboro Partnership’s annual dinner on Thursday, January 29.

Past recipients of the O. Henry Award include Dr. Richard Cox, Linda Sloan, Susan Shore Schwartz, Joseph M. Bryan, Jr., Barbara and Herman Cone, Louis Patseavouris, Shirley Spears, Bernie and Bobbie Mann, Logie Meachum, and Brenda Schlunes.