Betty Cone Medal of the Arts Award

The Betty Cone Medal of Arts Award, established in 1999 and sponsored by AT&T North Carolina, honors local artists who have achieved clear excellence in their discipline and/or have made extraordinary contributions to their field or the community through their artistry or expertise.

Award Criteria:

  1. Nominees must reside, work, or volunteer in the greater Greensboro area.
  2. Recipients of the award must be a visual, literary, or performing artist who has achieved clear excellence in their art form.

Call for Nominations:

ArtsGreensboro will announce the award nominations each year and will accept online submissions.


The Betty Cone Medal of Arts Award is presented at the ArtsGreensboro Annual Celebration in June.

2019 Recipient

Past Recipients

  • Brenda Schleunes
  • Scott Fray and Madelyn Greco
  • Stephen Gee
  • Stephen Hyers
  • Laurelyn Dossett
  • Elvira Green
  • Jim Gallucci
  • Henry & Lucy Ingram
  • Elissa Fuchs
  • Richard Cox
  • Barbara Britton
  • Mitchel Sommers
  • James McMillan
  • Maryhelen Mayfield & John Dennis
  • Preston Lane
  • James Barnhill