O. Henry Lifetime Award

In partnership with the Greensboro Chamber of Commerce, ArtsGreensboro established the O. Henry Lifetime Award to honor local individuals who have exhibited lifelong achievement and commitment to the arts and culture in the Greensboro community, in addition to local artists who have made an extraordinary contribution to their field.

Award Criteria:

  1. Nominees must reside, work, or volunteer in the greater Greensboro area.
  2. Recipients are individual who have made extraordinary contributions to the cultural development of the community throughout their lifetime.

Call for Nominations:

Award decisions will be made based on the information contained in the nomination form and attachments. Call for nominations will begin in October through online submissions only. Submission deadline will be in November.


The award is presented at the Greensboro Chamber of Commerce annual dinner and jointly sponsored by ArtsGreensboro. 

2019 Recipient

Past Recipients

  • Cheryl Stewart
  • Louis Patseavouris
  • Bernie & Bobbie Mann
  • Caroline Lee
  • Alice Pearce
  • Bonnie Cordes
  • Pam Allen
  • Peggy Johnson
  • Barbara & Herman Cone
  • Laura Deane Gresham
  • Lorenzo “Logie” Meachum
  • Brenda Schleunes
  • Allen Broach and Jo Bryan, Jr.
  • Susan Shore Schwartz
  • Linda Sloan
  • Dr. Richard Cox
  • Kathy Manning
  • Betty Cone
  • Linda Carlisle